Vivid

The weather didn’t quite cooperate with my first full day in Sydney.  It was pretty rainy all day, but I still managed to run some errands and setup my new Australian mobile phone. Despite my prior planning in Hawaii, my unlocked AT&T GoPhone didn’t work and I was forced to by a $30 Nokia phone.  I’m t9 texting and it’s driving me crazy. More than ever, I love my iPhone.

That night I went out to the Rocks with Chris and Greg from the EAPIS program and we got to see a little of the Vivid Lights Festival.  There were some great visual displays all over Circular Quay and The Rocks.  The highlights being the laser show on the Opera House and the pyrotechnic fire show coordinate with music.  The show had two songs “Fireworks” by Katy Perry and Stravinsky’s Firebird Suite.  Quite a mix.  After those two songs, the audience gets to vote for which one they want to see again as the finale.  Somehow, Katy Perry won the contest, despite my best efforts.  Thankfully, we find a nice pub and a couple of pints of beer to ease my worries.

The weather wasn’t great for picture taking, but I did manage to squeeze in a few good shots.  See my FB album for more pictures.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

