Happy Independence Day!

The 4th of July has always been one of my favorite holidays.  How can you not like BBQs, fireworks, and summer?  It’s one of those holidays that you usually spend with close family and friends, enjoying the summer weather.  It’s a nonsecular holiday with no religious overtones, shared by all.  And, it symbolizes one of the most amazing acts in history, a proud moment for every American.  True freedom that Australians can’t really understand considering they are still part of the Crown (sort of).

I have so many great memories from this holiday, from spectacular rooftop fireworks in NYC, to Randolph’s old 4th of July parade and fireworks, to Summerfest in Milwaukee, camping in Maine, Block Island parties in Rhode Island, and the thousands of private firework shows in Hawaii.  I’ve been seriously nostalgic all day.  For some reason, it feels particularly strange to be away from home, my family, and friends today.

I am still loving my time here in Sydney; just know that today I will be thinking of and missing all of you.

Happy 4th of July everyone!  Here’s a pic from my time down in Diego Garcia!

Leave a Reply

