ULURU

My last full day at Uluru, and this one was all about Uluru.  It started with a sunrise viewing, yes that makes two sunrises in a row for me.  Then a nice base walk around the entire rock.  Then I spent some time at the cultural center, and then my third and final sunset viewing.

Again, I am going to try to just let the pictures speak for themselves.  The base walk was a real highlight.  It was great to get up close and personal with what had only been a looming figure.  I think the whole trail is only about 6 km and is basically as flat as they come.  Make sure that if you do go, that you take every side trail possible.  They take you really close and to some awesome sites including a spectacular water hole and some really great cave paintings.

I was there early in the morning so, some of the photos really lacked light due to shadows to come out well.  Also, there are several areas that are sacred and off limits to photography.  This includes the whole cultural center.

In the end, I decided not to climb Uluru.  It seems pretty clear after spending time in the Cultural Center of the park that the Aboriginal people really don’t want you to climb it.  I decided to honor that request despite the fact that I really, really wanted to climb it.

To sum it up, GO TO ULURU.  It is an experience that is one of a kind and worth every minute and penny you spend to get out there.  Three days was perfect to see everything.

GO TO ULURU!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “ULURU

  1. I remember driving up to Uluru – the guide was telling us how the Aboriginal people didn’t approve of climbing Uluru, and that relatively high winds had shut down the climb anyway. However, about an hour before we got there, he got word that it would be open for the day, and he leaned over to me and said “Want to climb it with me?” I was kinda torn but I did, and it was pretty awesome, but just walking around the base of it is great too. Did you fly to Alice Springs or take the train?

Leave a Reply

